Skip to content

Belief

June 22, 2011

A belief is a commitment. In order for one to claim that they believe in a cause, I believe there to be an unwritten contract between that person and said cause. To believe is to be willing to fight for the principles upon which a cause is based. Without a fight, there is no cause. Without a cause, there is no belief. And without belief, we are all lost. Over the past few weeks, I have found myself caught between a rock and a hard place (for lack  more original phrasing). I will openly admit that I am sixteen years of age, and for a lengthy period of time I was hard pressed to find the means by which I could fight for my own cause. I want to fight. I really, honestly do. But for one of my age and perceived intelligence, there prove to be few opportunities in this particular battlefield. Amidst the talk of budgets, elected officials, and a magical elect group of individuals known only as “the legislators”; one such as myself could become lost. It wasn’t until recently that I decided what ought to be done. What CAN be done.

I believe in the arts.

In my recent endeavors I have come to believe that art, like sex, is a basic human instinct. Yes, I admit that I could have come up with a better comparison; but regardless, they both aspire to create. I firmly believe that the artist assumes the role of the  creator. The creative frame of mind is from where discoveries are made, masterpieces are conceived, and goals which lead us to impossible new heights are set. Art holds a mirror to humanity: correcting its faults as well as celebrating its successes. Art is drama. Art is a painting or drawing. Art is music. Art is dance. Art is literature. Art is emotion. Art is pain. Art is joy. Art is reality. Art is fantasy. Art is the past, present, and future of our world.

But that is only what art is in my life. What art is in yours may very well be completely different. And that’s as it should be; but at its most basic level, art is humanity. And it is in danger.

I will be the first to admit that I am not an openly political person. Nor am I politically literate. But I do know that the value of the arts has come into question, and I fail to understand why. I do not believe that there are individuals in this world who have not been touched by art. However, I do believe that there are individuals who have been corrupted by greed. And if greed is not the problem, there is severe misunderstanding.

I don’t know. I really just do not know. Regardless, it is a problem that needs to be addressed.

The Unofficial Arts Defense League is my attempt to announce the importance of art not only in my life, but in the lives of young people everywhere. Demonstrations, photographs, videos, whatever we can do. I don’t know what all is in store for this feeble attempt at a difference. Hopefully, we will become something great. We’ll see. In the meantime, keep an eye out for more information. I have faith in this plan.

My name is Isaac Young, I live in South Carolina, and I am sixteen years old. I attend the South Carolina Governor’s School for the Arts and Humanities with a focus in the dramatic arts.  I have been advocating for the arts for one year this month.

I operate this group under this quote-

“The role of art is to make a world which can be inhabited.”

-William Saroyan

I hope for us to accomplish great things.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 10:57 pm

    Great great plan Mr.
    Stay faithful and committed to your visions for this.
    Have patience and persistence and I PROMISE it will pay off
    please stop by and say hi
    xoxo
    bB
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  2. June 22, 2011 12:50 pm

    That really means a lot. I hope to find more people who are willing to fight to keep the arts thriving. Thank you for your encouragement!

    P.S.- Your work is beautiful, by the way!

Tell Us What You Think

